Silly Geese

Canada geese at fairgrounds

Canada geese congregate in our area during the winter months, wherever there is a stretch of open grass. They can be found feeding and looking quite majestic in horse pastures and near grazing cattle. They even populate the baseball diamond at the school where Sam teaches. I often hear them honking near the cabin where we live.

goose trio

Over the weekend, Sam and I took a break after running errands to walk at the county fairgrounds. It’s a great place to stretch your legs during the winter. There are paved walkways through the pines, and a small pond in a meadow near the campground has a path around it that is walkable when it hasn’t rained for a while.

hungry geese

A flock of geese patrols the pond area, along with a variety of ducks, a resident red-shouldered hawk, and an egret. I had my camera with me, and while I had intended to photograph the egret, I ended up with a variety of goose images.

more hungry geese

They posed for me near a puddle, then I found my way to the edge of the pond, dodging goose droppings as I went, to a spot where they are often fed by those who don’t seem to realize there are plenty of natural edibles for them in the vicinity. The geese took flight toward me to get their fair share. They landed gracefully and kept a birds’ eye on me, but to no avail.

goose landing

When I got too close to the egret’s perch, it flew across the pond. I headed back to the car where my husband waited, and along came a couple more geese straight toward me. I informed them that I had no food (with gestures), and they left me alone. I found the antics of the geese to be fascinating and comical. I hope you enjoy them.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in DIY, nature, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

