Picture a Day #352 – Movie Night

Last night I went to the movies with my oldest daughter. We drove across town to a tiny theatre which has been divided in two, but the size of the cinema made no difference. The movie we enjoyed transported us to another place and time.

Les-miserables-movie-poster1Les Miserables is a story known to many, but one I had never experienced. Embarrassed by my ignorance, I asked my husband (the wise guy) to give me a brief synopsis. He said it was about “a guy who helps a girl.” OK. No mention of the French Revolution, the struggle between good and evil, class warfare, true love. Ah well.

I was mesmerized, sucked into the lives of the suffering, struggling characters who sang their hearts out with tears rolling down their faces. The close-up shots were effective. I felt their pain.

My favorite character was Gavroche. That kid put so many others to shame with his juvenile bravery.

Now I am considering reading the novel by Victor Hugo, published in 1862 and admired as one of the greatest novels of all time. It is also one of the longest. This would be a challenging New Year’s resolution for 2013.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in art, history, picture a day, writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

