Picture a Day #333 – Biscuits + Franks = Delicious

When our kids were small, one of our favoriteĀ suppers was Pigs in Blankets. This tasty concoction is made by wrapping biscuit dough around frankfurters and baking them. Tonight my husband and I enjoyed them without the kids, who are now grown, just because it’s cold outside. Here is my recipe.

Cheesy Herb Pigs in Blankets

Combine 2 cups of unbleached flour, 1 tablespoon of baking powder, 1/3 cup of vegetable oil, 3/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup grated cheese (I used sharp cheddar), and a handful of fresh parsley, minced.

pigs in blankets 1Turn the dough onto a lightly floured board and knead about 10 times. Roll or pat into a 1/2 inch thick rectangle. Cut this into 16 pieces long enough to wrap around a frank. Prepare 8 skinless beef franks (I used extra long) by cutting each in half.

pigs in blankets 2Wrap each one with a piece of dough, gently shaping to fit. Bake on ungreased cookie sheets in 400 degree F oven for 10-15 minutes, until biscuits are golden brown. Serve with your favorite mustard.

pigs in blankets 3

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in DIY, home, photography, picture a day, sustainable living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

