Picture a Day #313 – Search for the Perfect Cookie Recipe

My test kitchen has been the site of numerous recipe variations, searching for the perfect (in my humble opinion) oatmeal cookie. Today I produced another one. I do not use fancy gadgets. I am old school. I use wholesome ingredients and a wooden spoon.

This is not a rich, greasy confection, designed to destroy the diet in one bite. It is wholesome, nourishing, and addictive in its subtle flavor and eatability. Try it, I dare you!

Oatmeal Drop Cookies

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F and lightly oil a baking sheet.

Mix together 2 and 1/2 cups unbleached flour, 1 and 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon, 1 teaspoon baking powder, and 1 teaspoon baking soda. Add 1/2 cup vegetable oil, 2/3 cup packed brown sugar, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 2 eggs.

Blend in 1 grated apple (1 cup), 1 cup milk, 2 cups oatmeal, 1 cup golden raisins, and 2/3 cup chopped walnuts.

Drop the batter by rounded tablespoonfuls.

Bake 10-12 minutes (do not overbake). This recipe produced 3 dozen cookies.

About J M Naszady

I am an observer of the world around me, a student of nature with the eyes of an artist, and a teacher. My interests have taken me into the water, across the meadow, through the forest, along the cliffs, and up the mountain. My latest journey has plunged me into the virtual world of words and images.
This entry was posted in DIY, home, photography, picture a day, sustainable living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

